Eternal Tears of Sorrow Logo
Eternal Tears of Sorrow

Band Members:

Altti Veteläinen – Vocals, Bass
Jarmo Kylmänen – Clean Vocals
Jarmo Puolakanaho – Guitar
Risto Ruuth – Guitar
Juho Raappana – Drums
Janne Tolsa – Keyboards

Band Info:

Year Formed – 1994
Country – Finland
Record Label – Suomen Musiikki


Eternal Tears of Sorrow - Saivon Lapsi

Saivon Lapsi

Eternal Tears of Sorrow - Children of the Dark Waters

Children of the Dark Waters

Eternal Tears of Sorrow - Before the Bleeding Sun

Before the Bleeding Sun

Eternal Tears of Sorrow - A Virgin and a Whore

A Virgin and a Whore

Eternal Tears of Sorrow - Chaotic Beauty

Chaotic Beauty

Eternal Tears of Sorrow - Vilda Mannu

Vilda Mánnu

Sinner’s Serenade



The story of Eternal Tears of Sorrow begins in a Northern Finnish town of Pudasjärvi in the late 80s when Jarmo Puolakanaho (guitar) and Altti Veteläinen (vocals and bass) started writing music together. Their first band was Andromeda that recorded the first demo in May 1992. During the next two years, Andromeda gradually became Eternal Tears of Sorrow whose third member was Olli-Pekka Törrö (guitar).

After two demos, the band got their first recording deal with X-Treme Records, an underground record label based in Gothenburg, Sweden. “Sinner‘s Serenade” was released in 1997. In 1998, the band recorded their second album “Vilda Mánnu” that was released by Spinefarm later that year.

Shortly after their first Finnish tour, Olli-Pekka left the band and EToS got three new members: Pasi Hiltula (keyboards), Petri Sankala (drums) and Antti-Matti Talala (guitar). With the new line-up, the band recorded “Chaotic Beauty” that was released in 2000. With this album, EToS got their first European tour, almost two months in nine countries with Nightwish and Sinergy.

After the tour, the band entered the studio to record their first single “Last One for Life”, with Antti Kokko replacing A-M Talala. Some months later, it was the time to record the fourth album “A Virgin and a Whore” that was released in late 2001.

At this point, the members of the band were tired with the band and all the hurries and demands, so each member wanted to do everything else for a while. Their final gig was in Oulu in summer 2001 supporting Megadeth. In early 2002, it was told that the band was having a long break and one year later, the band announced to have been split up permanently.

However, in summer 2004 Altti and Jarmo started talking about the resurrection of the band. By the end of the year, the band was ready with two more members (Janne Tolsa – keyboards, Risto Ruuth – guitars) to record their fifth album “Before the Bleeding Sun” that was released in 2006.

After doing the first live shows since 2001, the band was ready to write material for the darkest and heaviest album for a long time. In 2008, the band recorded their second single “Tears of Autumn Rain” after which their longtime drummer, Petri Sankala had to leave the band, Juho Raappana replacing him. In addition, Jarmo Kylmänen (vocals), who had been in the EToS song-writing team since 2005, joined the band as an official member. Just before the mixing session, Risto Ruuth left the band and was soon replaced by Mika Lammassaari.

“Children of the Dark Waters” was finished and released in the spring of 2009. A few years later, in 2013, another album, “Saivon Lapsi” was released.

In 2018, Mika left the band. Risto rejoined the band, and the band started writing new material.